2010/11 summary

Opening night – On 7 September 2010, Ian Hunnable gave a solo simultaneous display against 15 opponents.

London League – Teams played in Divisions 2 and 4 and the Minor Division.

Essex League – There was one team in each of the four divisions.  The first team began exceptionally well, winning its first six matches, but came a cropper in its match with defending champions Writtle.  Subsequent defeats by Barking and in the return fixture with Writtle ended title hopes.

North Circular League – Teams played in Divisions A and B,  the Lawrance and Finchley Cups and the Baum Trophy.  The first team missed out on the title by just 1 match point, finishing the season with an outstanding 4 – 2 win away to champions Wood Green.

National Club – the club has won the Major for the last two seasons, and have entered both this event and the Intermediate.  In the first round of the Major we won 5 – 0 away to Saxmundham and squeezed past Hackney on board count in the Intermediate.  In the quarter final of the Major we went down to Hackney by 1½ – 3½: in the Intermediate after a quarter-final bye we won 2½ – 1½ away to Maidstone in the semi-final but came up short by Bishop’s Stortford by 1½ – 2½ in the final at Golden Lane on 10 July.  It currently seems unlikely that there will be a rapidplay event.

Lightning championship (defending champion Gerry Hayes) took place on 21 September.  There was a tie for first place between David Spearman and Larry Marden, with David taking the title on tie break despite losing to Larry in the last round.  Sid Burns won the U120 grading prize.

Club championship. This is a 7 round event (joint defending champions Larry Marden and Ian Hunnable). Rounds are scheduled for 28 September, 26 October, 23 November, 25 January, 22 February, 22 March and 25 April. In the last round, Terry Whitton beat Larry Marden to tie for first place with Ian Hunnable on 5½/7. A two game play-off for the title has been arranged: Ian won the first of these games as White, but Terry won the return encounter, so the title will be shared. John Jestico won the 100 – U125 grading prize with 4 points, while there was a tie for the U100 grading prize by Matt Kay, Alan Summers, Mark Le Gassicke and Ben Dixon on 3 points.

Blitz championship (defending champion David Spearman) took place on 4 January 2011 and was won by David Spearman.

Rapidplay championship (defending champion Ian Hunnable). This was a new event last season. The 2010/11 event was held on 26 March 2011 and won by Larry Marden.

Summer events 2011

The Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match did not take place.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: