2003/4 summary

London League – Teams played in Divisions 2 and 4. The Division 4 team completed the season undefeated and won the Championship, while the Division 2 team gained promotion to Division 1 as runners up in its Division after winning its final match against Woodbridge (click here for a report on this match).

Essex League – Five teams were entered.

North Circular League – The Club again entered one team which, with the restructuring of the League, played an extended programme in Division B and finished in a very creditable second place.

National Club – The Club entered teams in the Major and the Handicap Rapidplay.  For the first time ever we were crowned Major champions, defeating Metropolitan by 4 -1 in the final.  The Rapidplay was played as a Swiss event at Magdalen College School, Oxford on 9 November and the club were equal first on points, although Magdalen College School B took the trophy on tie-break.

The Capes Trophy – Two teams were entered in this traditional pre-season lightning event for teams of four organised by the North Circular League which took place at the Angel Community Centre, Edmonton on 26 September. In a 7 team double round robin convincingly won by Powdermill, Wanstead I finished third with 29 (a point off second place) while Wanstead 2 were fifth with 16½.

Lightning championship – this took place on 30 September.  Julian Winkworth won on tie-break from Li Wu.

Club championship. This is a seven round Swiss event. Rounds took place on 28 October, 18 November, 9 December, 13 January, 10 February, 2 March and 23 March.  Steve Gilmour won the event by a point and a half with the outstanding score of 6½/7.  John Philpott was second with 5 and Ian Hunnable, Mark Murrell and Laurie Burtt joint third with 4½. The U120 grading prize went to Bob Heyman and the U85 grading prize to John Tuitt, both with 4.

Blitz championship – this took place on 6 January and was won by Terry Whitton with 6/7.  Julian Winkworth was 2nd with 5½ and David Smith 3rd with 5.  The U100 grading prize went to Wim de Jong who scored 4.

Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match. This is a traditional annual fixture with the Insurance Chess Club which took place on 15 October at Insurance’s venue and was lost by 3½ – 6½.  Click here for the detailed results from the Insurance Chess Club website.

Essex knock-out.  Two teams were entered in the Summer 2004 competition. The A team qualified for the final by defeating Chelmsford 9½ – 2½ and Writtle on board count, but were edged out 6½ – 5½ by Barking after just failing to overcome a 5 – 1 deficit in the first series of games. The B team lost in the first round to Upminster 7 – 5, but beat Roding & Loughton on board count in the plate semi-final, only to lose 9½ – 2½ to Ilford in the final.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: