2014/15 summary

The following events will take place in addition to League and National Club matches and the Club Championship and Ladder.

Opening night

Although the Club now operates all the year round, there is an official opening night for the new season  in early September, when a simultaneous display is given by the main trophy winners for the previous season.

Opening night for 2014/15 was Tuesday 2 September 2014, when there was a tandem simultaneous display given by Ian Hunnable and Steve Rix..

Committee meetings

The Committee normally meets twice a year, in September and May.  The meetings for 2013/14 take place on Tuesday 16 September 2014 and Tuesday 5 May 2015.

Lightning Championship

This is a 7 round “buzzer” event, with 10 seconds for each move, held on the second or third club night of the year.  The winner holds the Lightning Championship trophy for a year.  Entry is £1 “on the night” with all entry fees being returned as cash prizes.  All points scored in the Lightning Championship count towards the Roy Wagstaff Memorial Shield.

The 2014/15 event took place on Tuesday 23 September 2014 and was won by Paul Barclay.  Click here for a report.

Blitz Championship

This is a one-evening event held early in the New Year in the same format as the Lightning Championship (see above) except that it is played with clocks at the rate of all moves in 10 minutes on each clock per game.

The winner holds the “John Wagstaff Trophy” for one year.  Entry is £1 “on the night”, with all entry fees being returned as cash prizes.

All points scored in the Blitz Championship count towards the Roy Wagstaff Memorial Shield.

The 2014/15 event took place on Tuesday 6 January 2015, and was won by David Spearman on tie-break from Steven Rix.  Click here for the cross-table.

Rapidplay championship

This is a one-day event, inaugurated in 2009, played at the rate of 30 minutes per player per game or an incremental rate of 20 mins per player per game plus 10 seconds a move added from the start (“Fischer” timing), on a Saturday during the regular League season.  The entry fee is £4 including the Board Fee.

The 2014/15 event took place on Saturday 28 March 2015 and was won by David Spearman.  Click here for the cross-table.

Annual General Meeting

This will take place on Tuesday 9 June 2015.

%d bloggers like this: