2004/5 summary

The 2004/5 season began on 14 September with the traditional “caterpillar” simultaneous display by Steve Gilmour, Laurie Burtt and Ian Hunnable who scored an impressive 15-7 against the club members. Click here for David Smith’s report on the opening night.

London League – After the double promotion achieved last season, teams played in Divisions 1 and 3. The first team found Division 1 tough going and have been relegated after finishing next to last, but the Division 3 team has held its own.

Essex League – Five teams were entered. Division 1 was won for the first time in 18 years (click here for a report on the decisive win at at Writtlle) and Division 2 was won with a 100% record.

North Circular League – The Club entered one team in the North Circular League which won Division B.

National Club – The Club were defending champions in the Major, and reached the final but lost to Writtle. We were runners up to Milton Keynes in the Handicap Rapidplay.

Lightning championship- this took place on 28 September and was won by Larry Marden.

Club championship – Steve Gilmour retained the championship, which he has now won for three out of the last four years, after a last round draw with Laurie Burtt to reach 5½/7, thanks to Terry Whitton defeating the previous co-leader Ian Hunnable.

Blitz championship – this took place on 4 January 2005 and was won by John Duggan – for detailed results click here.

Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match. This is a traditional annual fixture with the Insurance Chess Club which took place at Wanstead on 20 November 2004 and resulted in a 4½ – 3½ victory for the club. Three of the participants were eligible to play for both teams, and while Ian Hunnable (Board 2 for Wanstead) and your webmaster (Board 5 for Insurance) both drew, it was Paul Barclay who, captaining Wanstead, scored the decisive victory on Board 3.

Paul Barclay – Martin Page

1.e4 e5 2.Nf3 Nc6 3.Bc4 Nf6 4.d3 Bc5 5.Nbd2 d6 6.h3 Be6 7.Bb3 Qe7 8.Nf1 h6 9.c3 d5 10.Ng3 0-0-0 11.Qe2 Rhe8 12.Ba4 Bd7 13.0-0 g5 14.b4 Bd6 15.Bc2 Qf8 16.a4 g4 17.hxg4 Bxg4 18.a5 Qg7 19.b5 Ne7 20.Ba4 Rg8 21.Ba3 Nh5 22.b6 cxb6 23.Nxh5 Bxh5 24.g3 Ng6 25.axb6 a6 26.Qe3 Qf6 27.Bxd6 Rxd6 28.Qc5+ Kb8 29.Qc7+ Ka8 30.Bc6 1-0

Essex knock-out. Two teams were entered in the Summer 2005 competition, but both lost in the first round. The 1st team proceeded to win the Plate with a convincing victory in the final against Upminster.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: