2006/7 summary

London League – Teams played in Divisions 2 and 3 (both 10 boards).  The first team had a good season, but fell some way short of promotion. The second team was relegated.

Essex League – There were two teams in Division 1, one in Division 2 and two in Division 3.  The second team distinguished itself by drawing with Ilford and defeating Shell, Barking and Waltham Forest.  The first team was in with a chance of the title until the penultimate match away to Writtle.

North Circular League – The club fielded teams in both Division A and Division B, with the first team enjoying an excellent season.

National Club – The club entered the Major and the Minor, which are both knockout events with an average grading limit, and the Handicap Rapidplay which took place at Magdalen College School, Oxford on 22 April.  An excellent 3½ – 1½ win away to Hackney in the Major was rewarded by a home quarter final against Metropolitan Knights which was lost 2 – 3. The Minor team also fell at the second hurdle, as a 3-1 win away to Westcliff in the Minor was followed by a ½ – 3½ home defeat against Bedford. The Handicap Rapidplay team had a slightly disappointing afternoon, finishing only equal 10th, but David Smith distinguished himself with a score of 4 out of 4.

Lightning championship – this took place on 26 September and was retained by defending champion Terry Whitton with a score of 6 out of 7.  Second was Ian Hunnable with 5½ and equal third Larry Marden, David Smith and Mark Murrell with 5.  The under 100 grading prize was shared by Sid Burns and Fin O’Regan on 3. 22 entered.

Club championship. This is a 7 round event (defending champion Ian Hunnable), with rounds scheduled for 3 October, 7 November, 28 November, 9 January, 6 February, 27 February and 20 March.  There were 30 entries.  In round 6, Ian Hunnable defeated Philip Staniland to retain the championship with a round to spare.  Ian finished on 6½/7, with David Smith and John Duggan joint second on 5.

Blitz championship -.this took place on 2 January 2007 and was won by Robert Hamilton with 6 out of 7.  John Duggan was 2nd with 5½ and Larry Marden 3rd with 5. John Tuitt won the U100 grading prize.

Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match. This is a traditional annual fixture with the Insurance Chess Club, which took place at Belgrave Road on 21 February and was lost by a rather convincing ½ – 7½.  Philip Staniland saved the whitewash.

Essex knock-out.  Only one team was entered into the 2007 event, but this reached the final after defeating Writtle away. However, in the final Barking took a 4-2 lead in the first round and held on to win 6½ – 5½.

Essex team blitz.  Two teams were entered in the all play all event on 15 July 2007.  The first team (Ian Hunnable, Terry Whitton, Nayeem Syed and David Smith) scored 17½/32 and finished 5th (out of 9 teams), and the second (Mark Murrell, Laurie Burtt, Fin O’Regan and Andy Lu) scored 4½ and finished 9th.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: