2008/9 summary

London League – Teams played in Divisions 2 and 4.

Essex League – There is one team in each of the four divisions.  The first team won its first four matches but subsequently faltered and is likely to finish third.  The second team clinched the Division 2 title by winning its final match against Brentwood 1.

North Circular League – Teams played in Divisions A and B.  After a shaky start the first team had good results late in the season to retain its place in Division A.  The side reached the final of the Lawrance Cup, but were shaded out by Barnet Elizabethans by 4½-3½.  However, the outstanding performance came in the Baum Trophy – the summer rapidplay event – which the team won. Click here for Mark Murrell’s report.

National Club. The club again entered the Major and the Minor, which are both knockout events with an average grading limit, and the Handicap Rapidplay. The Major team are the champions after beating St Albans at Golden Lane on 12 July by the convincing score of 4-1.  However, the Minor team lost by 2½ – 1½ to Snodland in the semi-final.  The Handicap Rapidplay will take place at Syston on Saturday 26 September.

Lightning championship (defending champion Larry Marden) – this took place on 16 September and was won by John Duggan with 6/7 on tie break from Ian Hunnable.

Club championship. This is a 7 round event (defending champion Ian Hunnable). Rounds are scheduled for 30 September, 28 October, 2 December, 20 January, 24 February, 24 March and 28 April. Round 7 results now posted: Ian Hunnable, and Terry Whitton drew their respective games to finish on 5½/7, but David Spearman overhauled them by winning his postponed game against Steven Marriatt played on 12 May. Grading prizes were won by Arie Nieuwerf and Phil Campbell.

Blitz championship (defending champion Larry Marden) – this took place on 6 January and was retained by Larry Marden with the excellent score of 6½/7.

Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match. This is a traditional annual fixture with the Insurance Chess Club, which took place on 21 May 2009 at Wanstead House and was won 3½ – 1½ by Wanstead.

Essex knock-out.  Only one team was entered into the 2009 event.  The Club won its first match at home to Roding & Loughton 9½ – 2½, but went out on board-count to Writtle in the semi-final.

Essex team blitz.  Only one team (Richard Manning (res), Terry Whitton, Mark Murrell and David Smith) played in the event on 12 July 2009 as a result of a clash with the National Club final, and scored 11½/28 to finish 6th out of 8 teams.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: