2007/8 summary

London League – Teams are playing in Divisions 2 and 4 and the new Minor Division (5) which is for teams of four, all graded under 120 of whom no more than two may be graded in the range 110-119.

Essex League – This was restructured for 2007/8, with divisions of six played on a double round basis.  The club had one team in Division 1, one in Division 2, one in Division 3 and two in Division 4.

North Circular League – Teams played in both Division A and Division B.  The club also entered the new summer rapidplay event, the Baum Trophy.

National Club – The club entered the Major and the Minor, which are both knockout events with an average grading limit, and the Handicap Rapidplay.  The first round match in the Major at home to Milton Keynes was lost by 3½ – 1½, so the team competed in the Plate, where we won 3 – 2 away to London Deaf.  With Sidmouth conceding the semi-final, the team qualified for the final on 6 July, but suffered a 3½ – 1½ defeat to Wood Green.  The first round match in the Minor was home to Tunbridge Wells and was won by a convincing 3½ – ½, but we lost the quarter final away to Cosham on board count.  There was a slightly disappointing performance in the Handicap Rapidplay, where the 11 points scored by our 4 man team over the 4 rounds was only good enough for a share of 11th place.

Lightning championship (defending champion Terry Whitton) – this took place on 18 September and was won by Larry Marden with 6/7..

Club championship – This is a 7 round event (defending champion Ian Hunnable). Rounds took place on 2 October, 6 November, 4 December, 15 January, 12 February, 11 March and 15 April.  Ian Hunnable defeated Terry Whitton in the last round to retain the title with the excellent score of 6½ out of 7.

Blitz championship (defending champion Robert Hamilton) -.this took place on 8 January 2008 and was won by Larry Marden.

Roy Wagstaff Memorial Match. This is a traditional annual fixture with the Insurance Chess Club which took place at Wanstead House on 12 January 2008 and was lost by 2½ – 4½.

Essex knock-out.  Only one team was entered into the 2008 event. This won its first match away to Roding & Loughton but was eliminated by Barking in the second round

Essex team blitz.  Two teams were entered in the all play all event held at Ilford on 20 July 2008.  The first team (Larry Marden, John Philpott (sub), Ian Hunnable and Terry Whitton) finished 4th= with 14½, and the second (Gerry Hayes,Mark Murrell, David Smith and Sid Burns) finished 7th with 7½.  Terry Whitton won the board 4 prize.

Capes Trophy.  Two teams comprising participated in this annual lightning event (on this occasion a 14 team all play all) organised by the North Circular League on 24 September 2007.  The first team comprising Larry Marden, Robert Hamilton, Terry Whitton and Mark Murrell finished 5th with 32 points, while the second team comprising Philip Staniland, David Smith, Keith Jones and Sid Burns, finished 14th with 8½ points.  Mark Murrell shared the individual U141 prize.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: