Rapid Championship Regained

Whitton-Hunnable R6, Black to move. See full report for continuation.

Mark Murrell reports:

In an impressive undefeated performance Ian Hunnable, has won the Rapid Championship for the second time. With a score of 5½ out of 6, Ian improved slightly on his 2010 performance in the inaugural event and whilst controlling the all-day tournament as well.

In the nine years of the competition only David Spearman has achieved multiple titles though Ian is the only player to have won with and without time increments. The 2011 event saw the introduction of the current time control of all moves in 20 minutes with 10 seconds increments changing from a flat 30 minutes in use for the opening event.

Prize List

1st – Ian Hunnable, 5½/6; Rapid Champion
2nd – Mark Murrell, 4½
Grading Prize – Nigel White 90, 3/3 – Performance 119 (+29).

For Mark’s full report and the Tournament pages (round-by-round pairings and results) follow the links:

Mark’s report (pdf) | Tournament pages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: